The young politicians who may dominate Ikorodu political scene in future

Since inception of Ikorodu as a modern political unit, right from the time of Nigeria’s independence, various leaders have emerged in Ikorodu Division who have metamorphosed into powerful leaders championing the cause of Ikorodu division.
Among the first wave of political leaders in Ikorodu during the First Republic were Chief R. A. Alison, Otunba Adeniran Ogunsanya and TOS Benson, who at that time, controlled the entire political structure of the division. During that time, those who needed help from the state or federal level would have to go through these powerful three political leaders from Ikorodu.
After the era of those political leaders, another wave of political leaders emerged and power shifted to another set of political leaders. The second generation of political leaders in Ikorodu include men like Seye Ogunlewe, Salisu Alogba, Prince Abiodun Ogunleye, late Mufutau Ajisebutu and Olorunfunmi Bashorun.
At their peak, one would have to visit any of these leaders because they were the representatives of the division in their respective political party and the dominant political leaders at that time. These are men who have considerably advanced in age. During their heydays, they dedicated their best to project the image of Ikorodu division.
Today, those on the political scene are Olorunfunmi Bashorun, Prince Biodun Ogunleye, Princess Denrele Ogunsanya (former SSG to the Lagos State Government during the regime of Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola, SAN), and Asipa Kaoli Olusanya, and they are all members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Governor’s Advisory Council in Lagos, representing Ikorodu division. These political leaders are also advanced in age as some of them are in their 70s.
Today, the younger politicians who have prospects and hopefully will take over the rein of political affairs in the division include Hon. Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Hon. Jimi Benson, Hon. SOB Agunbiade, Dr. Saheed Ibikunle, Tokunbo Abiru, Hon. Adebimpe Akinola, Gafar Bolowotan, Sesan Daini, Wasiu Kunle Agoro, Olasunkanmi Tijani (T.J), Lakan Ijelu, Wasiu Adeshina and F.O. Lasisi, among others. Most of these young minds have bright future and we pray for them to live and work in harmony for the betterment of the division.
But then, there is a problem we are having with these young politicians as it was observed that most of them are divided under different factions, though under the umbrella of APC. Some apt political observers told Oriwu Sun that unless the younger ones unite to work in harmony, the dividends of democracy will continue to elude us in Ikorodu division.
Their camping and siding with different caucus will jeopardize our common good and development will continue to evade the people of Ikorodu Division. Concerted effort will have to be made by community leaders to bring these young hopefuls together and redirect their interest in favour of the division.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: